The Sin and The Sentence Tour kicks off in Tampa

Trivium kicked off another round of The Sin and The Sentence Tour at The Ritz in Tampa, FL to a sold-out crowd. The eager crowd waited patiently for doors as the line formed early and proceeded to wrap around the building and along the train tracks in anticipation of a vintage metal experience.

This 25-show fall tour includes special guests Avatar and Light the Torch. Avatar joined the tour in support of their newest record, Avatar Country.

The metalcore band Trivium is Matt Heafy lead vocals and rhythm guitar, Corey Beaulieu lead guitar, Paolo Gregoletto bass, and Alex Bent drums. The band formed in 1999 continues to grow its fanbase through a high-octane live show experience that leaves fans wanting more. Crushing riffs and dueling guitar harmonies melting into the sound of those attacking drums seems to fuel the crowd as the energy intensifies.

During the fourth song, “Into the Mouth of Hell We March” lead singer Matt Heafy briefly stopped the show as a brief scuttle broke out. The 18-song setlist included live debuts of “He Who Spawned the Furies” and “The Wretchedness Inside”. The set concluded with a Black Sabbath classic “Heaven and Hell”.

The melodic death metal band hailing from Sweden, Avatar and their theatrical circus themed live show greeted their die-hard fans as well as the new ones made by the end of their 8-song in your face set that included a bubble shower.

Opening act Light the Torch, featuring Howard Jones previously with Killswitch Engage, threw it into overdrive from the onset and that energy continued throughout the evening with each act.

This is a must see lineup for all!

Setlist Trivium

  1. Betrayer
  2. Throes of Perdition
  3. Beyond Oblivion
  4. Into the Mouth of Hell We March
  5. Suffocating Sight
  6. Sever the Hand
  7. Until the World Goes Cold
  8. He Who Spawned the Furies
  9. The Wretchedness Inside
  10. A Gunshot to the Head of Trepidation
  11. The Sin and the Sentence
  12. The Heart From Your Hate
  13. Down From the Sky


  1. Strife
  2. Pull Harder on the Strings of Your Martyr
  3. Capsizing The Sea
  4. In Waves
  5. Heaven and Hell (Black Sabbath song)

Setlist Avatar

  1. A Statue of the King
  2. Hail the Apocalypse
  3. Paint Me Red
  4. Bloody Angel
  5. The Eagle Has Landed
  6. Torn Apart
  7. The King Welcomes You to Avatar Country
  8. Smells Like a Freakshow

Setlist Light the Torch

  1. The Bitter End
  2. Calm Before the Storm
  3. The Safety of Disbelief
  4. Consume the Damned
  5. Die Alone
  6. The God I Deserve (Live Debut)
  7. The Way We Die

Photos and review by Steve Carlos

fender play