Spread the love

The Orpheum-Ybor has been on a roll with one kickass show after another and Wednesday night was no exception as Red Sun Rising grooved into Tampa on the band’s headlining tour “Together We Are Thread,” with a supporting cast that included Spirit Animal and Dube. The tour kicked off November 2nd and wraps up on December 8th with 23 stops along the way.

The band is donating a portion of its ticket sales from the upcoming tour to MusiCares, the Recording Academy’s charity that provides a safety net of critical assistance in times of need. The video for Red Sun Rising’s suicide awareness anthem “Stealing Life” features people who have been impacted by suicide includes some of whom guitarist Ryan Williams met while in recovery.

“This song is about the aftermath of someone taking their own life — a topic that unfortunately hits very close to home with the band. That is why we are excited to be able to raise money for suicide prevention and mental health awareness. Being able to affect actual change with our music side by side with the charity that changed our lives personally is a dream come true,” the band said.

Opening the night’s festivities was the Ottawa-based group, Dube. The band consists of a trio of brothers; Quinn, Jig and Liam. It was evident from the second they took the stage that these guys absolutely love what they are doing and crowd could feel it.

Next to join the party were the Brooklyn based band, Spirit Animal, consisting of vocalist Steve Cooper, Cal Stamp (lead guitar), Paul Michel (bass), and Ronen Evron (drums). The band continues to tour as they promote their full-length debut album Born Yesterday that was released in August of this year.

Red Sun Rising took the stage to a roar from the crowd as onlookers cheered with excitement for the Akron rockers. Vocalist Mike Protich was smooth as he transitioned the band through the 12-song set that included the Alanis Morsette cover of “Uninvited”. RSR is Protich, Ryan Williams (guitar), Ricky Miller (bass), Dave McGarry (guitar), and Pat Gerasia (drums).

It is highly suggested that you catch a Red Sun Rising experience and show your support for a group of talented musicians as they continue to make waves.

Red Sun Rising Setlist

  1. Veins
  2. Amnesia
  3. Emotionless
  4. Clarity
  5. Uninvited(Alanis Morissette cover)
  6. The Otherside
  7. El Lazo
  8. Blister (acoustic Mike & Dave only)
  9. My Muse(piano intro)
  10. Evil Like You


  1. Stealing Life
  2. Deathwish