Spread the love

As Snoopy would say, “it was a dark and stormy night” leading up to the show, perfect weather for “The Twins of Evil – The Second Coming” tour stopping in Hartford, Connecticut. The tour features Marilyn Manson teaming up with his partner in evil, Rob Zombie. Opening the night was the Canadian industrial metal band, Deadly Apples.

Deadly Apples was warmly received by the crowd as frontman Alex Martel tossed his microphone like Roger Daltrey and stalked the stage in the same fashion as headliner Rob Zombie. The band played up to the crowd as well and as they worked through first few songs, the audience were clearly won over. No doubt, the band gained a good number of new fans that evening.

Next up on the night was one of rock’s notorious badboys, Marilyn Manson. Manson has been known to be a photographer’s nightmare, lurking in shadows, shrouded in theatrical stage smoke, or not even facing the audience during the first song which is the only song photographers have been allowed to photograph. The Hartford show was a pleasant surprise as he came up to the front of the stage during his opener, “Cruci-Fiction in Space”. He cruised around the stage giving both sides of the crowd a chance to get a good look at the rock icon. He and his band ripped through a great set which included his most well knows songs, the Eurythmics cover of “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)” which included Zombie band member John 5 joining Manson on stage and his own hit, “Beautiful People”.

Closing out the dual headlining show was rock’s biggest horror movie mastermind, Rob Zombie. The band hit the stage firing on all cylinders. Brandishing a mic stand adorned with a ghoulish crucifix like figure, he tore into “Meet The Creeper” and there was no turning back. Clad in paisley and a metallic fringe jacket, Zombie was a force to be reckoned with. His energy level was high, as usual, and his band followed suit. Those familiar with a Rob Zombie concert come to expect a great stage show and this was no exception. A large 50’s sci-fi alien robot figure criss crossed the stage during “Well, Everybody’s F**king In A UFO” adding to the visual assault of John 5 wailing on a guitar lit up with LED lights. The set was peppered with White Zombie and Rob Zombie classics together. Manson joined Zombie for their recent collaboration,” Helter Skelter” Ending the amazing show was the crowd favorite, “Dragula” which left the crowd both in awe and longing for more.

The double headlining bill of Manson and Zombie is a metal lover’s dream (or nightmare) come true. The Twins of Evil Tour is not to be missed by anyone who loves great music accompanied by high energy performances!!!

Manson Set List

  1. Cruci-Fiction in Space
  2. Angel With the Scabbed Wings
  3. This Is the New Shit
  4. Disposable Teens
  6. Say10
  7. The Dope Show
  8. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)
  9. Antichrist Superstar
  10. The Beautiful People
  11. Cry Little Sister

Zombie Set List

  1. Meet the Creeper
  2. Superbeast
  3. Well, Everybody’s Fucking in a U.F.O.
  4. Living Dead Girl
  5. In the Age of the Consecrated Vampire We All Get High
  6. Dead City Radio and the New Gods of Supertown
  7. More Human Than Human
  8. Never Gonna Stop (The Red, Red Kroovy)
  9. The Hideous Exhibitions of a Dedicated Gore Whore
  10. House of 1000 Corpses
  11. Guitar Solo
  12. Thunder Kiss ’65
  13. Helter Skelter
  14. Zombie Movie Trailer For “3 from Hell”
  15. Dragula

Photos and review by Rich Russo